COUNTY
Calendar of Events
County Officials
 
COUNTY OFFICES 
Archive Center
Assessor
Auditor
Circuit Court Clerk
Collector
County Clerk/Election Authority
County Commission
County Coroner
Emergency Management
Flood Plain Management
Health Department
Highway Department
Information Technology
Juvenile Office
Parks
Prosecuting Attorney
Public Administrator
Public Works
Recorder of Deeds
Sheriff
Storm Water Management
Treasurer

 

 

Marriage License

 

Congratulations on your forth coming wedding.   The recorder of deeds office issues marriage licenses.   Key items to keep in mind when applying is to make sure you have everything you need with you, and both individuals come together.   Missouri law requires applicants for marriage license to present themselves before the Recorder of Deeds or their deputy.   Our office is located in Jackson, Missouri in the County Administration building on the second floor.   To make your trip easy and a success please look over the tips provided.

 

Tips for a quick and easy trip to the recorder's office:

  • License must be paid for before it will be issued; a marriage license is $51.00. Cash is the only accepted form of payment.  If you pre-purchase a certified copy you will need to bring $60.00 cash.
  • Both applicants must present themselves together in the recorder's office at the time of application.  
  • Both applicants must present government issued photo identification at the time of application.
  • All applicants must be 18 years or older.   Those individuals between the ages of 15-17 must be accompanied by a consenting parent or legal guardian and present their birth certificate. The legal guardian must also bring the same identification, along with any other supporting documentation.   
  • It is important that you allow yourself plenty of time for the application process.   There are several questions you will be asked.   All documentation and information must be presented in order to do the application.   In the event that the applicants do not have all the required information, they must reappear with all required items.  
  • License must be used in the State of Missouri.
  • There is no waiting period for a marriage license.  
  • Once the license is issued, it must be used within thirty days otherwise it will be void.  All license must be returned to the Recorder of Deeds, even if not used. No refund will be given on an unused license. If the license is lost a sworn affidavit must be signed stating that fact.  No refund for lost or unused license. A replacement license can be re-issued for a fee.  
  • The license must be picked up prior to the ceremony.   The person solemnizing the marriage is required to have the marriage license prior to performing the ceremony.

 

 

After the ceremony

You will receive two documents, one is your license for marriage the other is a certificate keepsake.   The individual performing in the ceremony must return the license to the recorder of deeds' office within 15 days of the ceremony.  Once returned we will record the license for public record.

We give our customers the option to purchase in advance a certified copy of their license, which cost $9.00.   Several government entities require a certified copy of a marriage license to update your information.   (Examples include license bureau, Social Security office, insurance companies and others.)   If you choose this option, you will need to bring $60.00 cash.

 

Fees

Marriage License

 

Fee

Fund

Statute

 

$15.00

County General Revenue

451.150
193.195
59.310
59.310.6(7)

 

$10.00

Shelter Fund

451.151.3
455.205.4

 

$15.00

Children's Trust

451.151.3

 

$2.00

Recorder's Tech fund

59.319.1

 

$1.00

Land survey

59.319.3

 

$1.00

Secretary of State local records

59.319.3

 

$7.00

Cerf Fund

50.1190
59.321

Marriage License

$51.00

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

$2.00

County General Revenue

59.310.6(7)

 

$7.00

Children's Trust Fund

451.151.2

Certified Copy

$9.00

 

 

 

 

 

 

Certified Statement/Letter

$2.00

County General Revenue

59.310.6(2)

59.310.6(3)

 

Cash only please

 

For any other questions please contact the Recorder of Deeds office in Jackson.

Office hours are Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:30pm

Phone: 573-243-8123

#1 Barton Square Suite 203

Jackson, MO 63755

 

powered by element 74